Inland Northwest Mountains

There are 7 major mountains in the Inland Northwest, the Selkirk, Purcell, Cabinet, Coeur d’Alene, St. Joe, Bitterroot and Clearwater Mountains. Select from the list below for a complete list of hikes in the respective region:

Bitterroot Mountains
The Bitterroot Mountains are part of the Bitterroot Range, running north-south from I-90 to the Salmon River. The mountains abut the Clearwater and St. Joe Mountains, which make up the Bitterroot’s western boundary. To the east the Bitterroots are bordered by the Bitterroot River.

Cabinet Mountains
The Cabinet Mountains stretch from Bonners Ferry in Idaho almost all the way to Missoula in Montana. To the north they are bordered by the Purcell Mountains. Lake Pend Oreille and the Kootenai river separate the Cabinets from the Selkirks to the West, and in the south the dividing line is the Clark Fork River. Eastwards, the Cabinets extend to Flathead lake and River.

Clearwater Mountains

Coeur d’Alene Mountains
The Coeur d’Alene Mountains are the northwestern-most part of the Bitterroot Range of the Rocky Mountains. They extend from Coeur d’Alene eastwards into Montana and are bordered to the north and east by Lake Pend Oreille and the Clark Fork River. To the west they are bound by the Selkirk Mountains and to the south Lake Coeur d’Alene, the South Fork of the Coeur d’Alene River, and the St. Regis River.

Purcell Mountains

Selkirk Mountains

St. Joe Mountains
The St. Joe Mountains run east-west, sandwiched between the South Fork of the Coeur d’Alene River to the north and the St. Joe River to the south. To the west they are bordered by Lake Coeur d’Alene and the Palouse, and the eastern demarcation is the Bitterroot Mountains. The St. Joe Mountains are part of the Bitterroot Range.

© 2016 NaughtyHiker. All Rights Reserved. No duplication without permission.

Leave a Reply